The Ballymurphy Precedent




Callum Macrae is a film-maker and writer. An Emmy,
BAFTA and Grierson nominee, he has won many
awards in the UK and Peabody and Columbia Dupont
Awards in the US. He headed the Channel Four team
nominated in 2013 for a Nobel Peace Prize for their
work on Sri Lanka which culminate in his feature
documentary, No Fire Zone, the Killing Fields of Sri
Lanka. He grew up in Nigeria and Scotland and trained
as a painter in Edinburgh College of Art before
becoming a dustman for two years, a teacher, a
satirical cartoonist, Scottish Correspondent of the
Observer, a television presenter and a few other things
that now escape his mind.



Wayne Roberts is a London-based Welsh composer.
He has scored several films with director Callum Macrae
including the multi-award-winning No Fire Zone. Wayne
has an extensive portfolio in factual and documentaries
and recent credits include SAS Who Dares Wins and
The Island with Bear Grylls to name but a few. The
score for The Ballymurphy Precedent was performed by
AUKSO Orcestra and recorded at Alvernia Studios
Krakow Poland.



Born and raised in Fife, Scotland, Charlie moved to
London in 2005 to study post production at
Ravensbourne. Since leaving there, he has worked on
many multi-award-winning documentaries and was one of
Broadcast Magazine’s ‘Hot Shots’ in 2012. His surname is
pronounced ‘Ha-rill-you’.



Gwion Owain established Awen Media in 2014 to
develop, produce and finance innovative factual, drama,
and entertainment content. Awen’s initial successes
included pioneering the co-production relationship
between Wales and South Korea for the production of
feature-length documentary Tears of Blood (Dagrau
o Waed) which was shortlisted in the History category at
the 2016 RTS Programme Awards and was awarded a
Bronze Medal at the 2016 New York Festivals. Previously
Gwion was CEO and Founder of Anian Media, a creative
sector consultancy sourcing finance for independent
producers, which was acquired in 2013 by the Compact
Media Group. He was also CEO of TAC (Teledwyr
Annibynnol Cymru – Welsh Independent Producers), the
trade association representing the media production
industry in Wales, which has a membership with a
combined turnover of over £100m delivering creative
content in Wales. Gwion is currently developing and
financing a slate of feature documentary projects as well
as producing a £10m budget scripted feature film.



Christopher Hird is a leading figure in UK independent
documentary making. With Dartmouth Films he has
pioneered new ways of funding, producing and
distributing documentaries in the UK, as well as promoting
the work of new and emerging filmmakers.



Mark has worked in film and television production roles mainly within the field of investigative documentary for the past 10 years and during this time has worked on numerous projects for broadcasters including BBC, Channel 4 Discovery and Al Jazeera English. As well as television projects he has worked on long form theatrical documentaries such as My Brother the serial killer (Discovery), No Fire Zone (Channel 4) and more recently as co-producer on The Ballymurphy Precedent (Channel 4).



Huw is a three times Bafta Cymru, award winning cinematographer from Wales, winning in 2001 for Scott Gibbs - His Own Man, BBC Wales.  In 2011 he won for the cinematography on Richard Burton for S4C and in 2018 for Frank Lloyd Wright BBC 4.

He says: “Working on the Ballymurphy Precedent was a humbling experience, to be invited into people’s lives and witness their determination to be heard."

“I want to bring the production values and visual eloquence of feature films to documentaries but retaining the raw reportage , photo journalism quality of real life.”  In 2015 Huw was in Kathmandu when the earthquake struck and made four subsequent visits to document Nepal’s recovery. "Through my work I have witnessed both beauty and suffering but ultimately my privilege has been to focus on the courage and nobility of the human spirit.”